A Leap-Date treat

What’s special about Leap Day? This year it just seems fun. It’s like an extra day… not just your average day to let it slide by. Do something amazing! Try a new recipe.
Enjoy a review & a recipe all in one!

I’m all about simplifying, but sometimes shortcuts aren’t worth it. I purchased Trader Joe’s gluten-free brownie mix on a whim a bit ago. Let me also start by saying, I’m not a brownie lover, I prefer cookies but I like to try what other gluten-free goods are selling. The ingredients were also super simple so it seemed similar to something I would concoct- cocoa, brown rice flour, tapioca (well, not my favorite), arrowroot flour. Recently tried out the goods to see what they were made out of. Sounded simple- just add water, oil and an egg. Ok, maybe not so simple. But with a chia egg replacer, I’d decided to give it a go. No go it was.

I could tell by the way the batter looked, this wasn’t for me. It seemed very oily and not smooth at all. I preheated the oven and went for it anyway. The house smelled tasty but when I looked in the oven, it wasn’t as appealing. The brownies never cooked fully through. Tho, my mom might love the sound of this ooey gooey brownie of sorts, it did not even have good flavor. Maybe my standards for cocoa powder are higher. For 3.99 a bag, I don’t consider it a total loss. Just a reminder to do what I do best- make something from scratch, with love.

Buttercup’s Brownies

1.5 tbsp ground flax + 3 tbsp water, whisked
3/4 cup brown rice flour
1.5 cups almond flour
2 tbsp arrowroot powder
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup + 2 tbsp grapseed oil
1 cup xylitol or sweetener of choice
1/4 cup almond milk
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts (optional)
1/4 cup chocolate chips (optional but I recommend)

  • Preheat oven to 350F. Grease sides of 9 inch square pan with grapeseed oil.In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients (flours, vanilla, arrowroot, cocoa, salt, baking soda).
  • In separate bowl, measure grapeseed oil. Whisk in flax egg, sugar & milk.
  • Pour wet mixture over dry mixture and stir well. The mixture will be dry, but not to worry keep mixing! Now fold in the walnuts & chocolate chips, if desired.
  • Spread batter into pan with hands, a pastry roller, or off-set spatula.
  • Bake for 30-35 minutes at 350F and allow brownies to cool completely in pan before slicing.
Eat it UP!
Leave a Reply

