honey make me a cake

On Monday, I was called with a request. Make a honey cake for Rosh Hashanah dinner on Wednesday. Well, I’m not Jewish nor have I had the pleasure of tasting honey cake. Did it really have honey in it? Quick! I need to do a google search! Let me just say there are very few recipes out there for gluten-free honey cake, much less a vegan honey cake. They all call for many eggs… and honey… which depends on how strict you are as a vegan. For the record- I love local honey. Bees make it, I like it. No shame in my game.

Anyone that knows me knows I love a good challenge. Wow! And I succeeded! First attempt at honey cake and I thought it was fabulous. Got a text this morning that the cake was enjoyed, therefore I feel confidant in passing along this new creation. So sorry i forgot to take pictures! But of course, I’ll share my excitement in recipe form. Enjoy.. and Eat it UP!

Buttercup’s Spontaneous Honey Cake Recipe

3 c flour blend (I used garbanzo/brown rice)
1/2 t salt
1 T baking powder
1 t baking soda
1 T cinnamon
1/2 t ground ginger
1/2 t cloves
1 t vanilla
1/2 c oj + zest from orange
3/4 c honey/maple syrup
3/4 c applesauce

Preheat oven to 350*. Combine dry ingredients, then sift into large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine wet ingredients. Whisk or paddle to thoroughly combine. Mix wet into dry. Pour into 9″ round cake pan, bundt, or springform pan. Bake 25-ish minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Wait to cool before removing from pan. Enjoy the smell while you wait… then savor every bite.

2 thoughts on “honey make me a cake

  1. Pingback: build me up, Buttercup! | Eat it Up, Buttercup!

  2. Pingback: I’ll (hopefully) be seeing you… | Eat it Up, Buttercup!

Leave a Reply

