the flying apron

That’s how things go down in my kitchen…

No but really, I’m talking about Flying Apron, a  vegan and gluten-free bakery in Seattle! Amazing! Before I went to Seattle for the first time in January, I saw the cookbook in Rainbow. Waiting patiently in line alongside the books instead of the chip/chocolate aisle- dangerous!  The Flying Apron cookbook popped out at me. Call it an impulse buy, but I’m totally psyched I made the purchase way back when.

After visiting in person and really enjoying myself while drinking an almond milk latte, I made sure to re-visit my cookbook once home. The recipes are awesome because they don’t use white sugar or odd ingredients like xanthan gum. Most of the book is baked goods but not all sweets. Lots of bread recipes and the back includes a section full of soups and entrees. I absolutely love the white bean and butternut squash provençal. Yum. It’s a favorite of my friends too. Perfect for picnics in Dolores!

Since I’ve received lots of requests and lovely comments, thought it would be fun to share a little secret: the recipe I use for the cookie part of my german chocolate whoo(Pie) is based on the dark chocolate cake recipe from this cookbook. Of course, I have adapted it but I can’t give away all my fun secrets… gotta keep you wanting more!

Dark Chocolate Cake

Makes 1 9-inch three layer cake or two dozen cupcakes

1 3/4 cups brown rice flour
3/4 cup garbanzo bean or chestnut flour
1 3/4 cups cocoa powder
1 Tbsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp sea salt
1 cup extra-virgin olive oil or canola oil
2 cups water
2 cups maple syrup

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Grease three 9-inch cake pans (*or lined cupcake tins)

3. Combine brown rice flour, garbanzo bean flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. Sift into large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine olive oil, water, and maple syrup. Gently whisk flour mixture into oil mixture until well combined.

4. Pour batter into prepared pans and bake until cake springs bake when pressed with your finger, about 25 minutes. When cool, frost if desired.

*For cupcakes, bake for about 15 minutes or until knife comes out clean.

4 thoughts on “the flying apron

  1. Pingback: reviews are a brewin… | Eat it Up, Buttercup!

  2. Pingback: gluten-free holidays | Eat it Up, Buttercup!

  3. Pingback: I’ll (hopefully) be seeing you… | Eat it Up, Buttercup!

  4. Flying Apron changed ownership in 2010, by the way. The new owners are former tech company “entrepeneurs” that want to grow grow grow [1]. Oh, and sadly, at least for their wholesale dark chocolate muffins, they now use xantham gum and palm fruit oil [2] 😦 so sad…
    At least the cookbook lives on!

    1. http://www.bizjournals.com/seattle/print-edition/2011/01/21/owners-of-fremonts-flying-apron-with.html?page=all
    2. search for flying apron chocolate muffin on spud.com

Leave a Reply

