my quest for optimal health

Yesterday I got to review some basic lab results with my ND. I have slightly low stomach acid. That’s pretty interesting stuff, especially after doing a little more research… all the symptoms I’ve had make sense.

Without stomach acid, food doesn’t get digested properly. Most people don’t realize heartburn is more often caused by too little acid, not too much. When the food doesn’t get fully digested, it backs up into the esophagus. Ouch. I know that feeling.

Tho this link is sponsored by a supplement company, it is a really great overview. From what I understand, HCl (hydrochloric acid/stomach acid/sounds scary) breaks down protein. Lack of acid > proteins not broken down > unhappy stomach > unhealthy digestive system > food allergies. Most (food) allergens are proteins that your body can’t process. Hmmm… makes sense?

All this also leads to vitamins, minerals, and amino acids that aren’t fully absorbed leading to poor nutrition, fatigue, and a host of other symptoms.

I’ve had heartburn since I can remember. My mom was shocked when I first mentioned it as a pre-teen. My dad apologizes for passing on those genes.
At least there are ways to get help! I’m taking the steps necessary to feel amazing and tackle the amazing world in front of me, with full energy and a bright outlook.

Stay tuned for my latest food allergy & celiac panel results. Yea, I have been debating it for a while and thought I might pass on another test… but having a repeat panel will hopefully show that I am improving vs gaining more allergies. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

