a summertime treat! strawberry nectarine crisp

My favorite time of year! Summertime! Bring on the warm weather! Ok, well not in San Francisco, but at least I can travel slightly to the borders of the Bay Area to get some real sunshine on the days it’s foggy in the city..

But above all- summertime fruit! Nectarines are my absolute most favorite fruit. Hands down. Now I enjoy strawberries too, but once you combine the two, wow! The first time I had the combination was a July afternoon in Dolores Park. A couple of people were walking around selling pies to raise money for a charity.. no I actually do not remember.. I think a queer something-or-other but the point is- it was SO delicious- I found myself craving it months beyond my first taste.

Back then, I wasn’t worried about gluten. So now I have found an incredibly tasty new way to simulate the delicious treat, without the crust! It’s an awesome idea for those who aren’t even worried about gluten- but just want to make something easy or avoid the extra calories/carbs from a crust! Most crumble/crisp recipes call for agave and flour in the filling mix, but I’ve tried it without several times and have found no need 🙂

Buttercup’s (not-so-secret) secret Strawberry Nectarine Crisp!

Filling:
3-4 nectarines sliced
1 pint strawberries sliced
1 Tbsp lemon juice

Toss sliced fruit with lemon juice until coated. Evenly distribute in 8-9″ pan.

Crisp Topping:
1/3 c coconut oil, melted (watch that temp- don’t scorch it!)
1/3 c coconut sugar, maple sugar or brown sugar
1/3 c gluten free flour (I like to mix sweet rice, hazelnut &/or almond &/or sorghum)
1/3 c gluten free oats
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Mix together dry ingredients (flours, oats, & sugar). Pour in coconut oil and mix well. Should form a thick crumb.. think granola like.

Spread the ‘granola’ mixture over the fruit. It may not look like enough topping but once the fruit cooks down it makes a nice balance. Bake in a 350* preheated oven for 25-30 minutes or until the fruit looks bubbly. Let cool and Eat it Up!

You could also use frozen for this recipe if you are dying for it out of season (which I have). Or you can substitute your favorite fruit! Try peaches. Yum! Raspberries! Delicious! Or whatever else tickles your fancy!

One thought on “a summertime treat! strawberry nectarine crisp

  1. Pingback: Strawberry-Nectarine Crisp « guaranteedhome

Leave a Reply

