a cookbook review for you!

Isa Chandra Moskowitz has written many known cookbooks in the vegan world, including  Veganomicon: The Ultimate Vegan Cookbook and Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World!

Tho I haven’t checked out her other books, I’ve taken some tips for her cupcake recipes, as she has some really fun unique flavor combinations. Unfortunately the book is traditional wheat flour so unless you feel completely comfortable with flour substitutions, it may just be a library book not a purchase.

I picked up her latest,  Appetite for Reduction, at the library. Yes, that’s right. The library. Since very few cookbooks are gluten-free and vegan, not to mention soy AND potato-free I wanted to have a preview before purchase.

This cookbook is pretty amazing. It’s 99% gluten free but there is an entire chapter devoted to soy/tempeh/ect. Today for lunch I made her toasted cumin quinoa salad. My only change was that it calls for agave and I didn’t think that was necessary. Super simple recipe that is similar to one I’ve made before. Next I’m looking forward to trying the shaved brussel sprouts and curried black eyed peas.

Seems the goal of the book was a collection of recipes for herself (the author but of course) and she turned it into a cookbook.. isn’t that how most of them come about? Anyway, she wanted to have healthy nutritious meals so she even includes the nutrition information! Her recipes are definitely satisfying without being too ‘lightweight’. Many are ethic foods. Lots of Indian & Caribbean spices and some neat takes on Mexican. Not to toot my own horn too much but I was enjoying reading a lot of meals I usually make in my own home, similar to the eggplant chickpea curry.

Overall, I recommend this book worthy of purchse. Order it on Amazon if you absolutely can’t find it in a local bookstore near you.. or you are just lazy 🙂

If you are in the market for a new cookbook but want to do a little more research, her
blog has lots of recipes and really cool information… I’ll definitely bookmark that page!

Leave a Reply

