local flavor… an update on life…

Life has been busy lately. All good things. Some parts normal daily grind. Cooking and research as usual.

Some of my adventures include the ‘fig newton’ recipe from Elana’s Pantry. Quite time consuming with rolling out the dough, spreading the fig filling, and attempting to make the little cookies seamless. Definitely not visually appealing but when I stop and think about it, what makes a real fig newton so perfect looking? I don’t have any pictures of my own to share but the one below is from her website, and very similar to mine. My result however did not hold its bread-like outer cookie. Maybe the inside fig filling was too moist. Luckily I have a dehydrator. After a day at 100 degrees, they came out to be fun chewy treats. Got me thinking- next time I am going to just try them as a raw recipe.

Next week I leave for Puerto Rico. If you haven’t been there, you can probably imagine, it’s not vegetarian friendly. However, at least beans, rice, & plantains are gluten free, vegan, and delicious. Mostly I look forward to the best (and only) coconut milk mojito I had last time I was in San Juan. My mouth is already watering.

Traveling requires great research. We look for the best deal on a plane ticket, a great place to stay, and fun places to eat. That isn’t much different than my normal life. Anyone know of any affordable, dog-friendly apartments in the bay area? How about a gluten-free restaurant? I’m compiling a list of places to check out!

Here’s what I’ve got so far:

PicaPica Maize Kitchen: Valencia @ 15th. All gluten-free arepa’s or the cleverly named ‘maizewich’ Most of the menu is meat but they do have ‘la shuli’ with black beans, grilled veggies, & cilantro. I’d pay extra for the avocado. My mouth is watering all ready.

Zadin: 18th St @ Hartford in the Castro. Vietnamese food with several gluten free options. Some meat, some veggie, some soy-free options. I’ve heard Zadin is tasty so maybe soon I’ll stop reading the menu and actually pop in to taste it for myself.

Sans GlutenFree Grocery: San Rafael. A little out of the way but why not? Sometimes Whole Foods or Rainbow Grocery can be quite overwhelming with the 10,001+ product offerings. The north bay is quite beautiful and it would be a great time to squeeze in a hike…

Tho I haven’t tried it Amici’s pizza on Lombard does offer a gluten free crust & daiya vegan cheese. The crust does have egg so unfortunately I won’t be indulging, but the offer is there for some!

Paxti’s has a vegan pizza (daiya again!) but the crust is wheat with soybean oil 😦 Not allergen friendly but still a fun option if someone is only dairy free. Sigh.

Time to try making my own pizza crust…

Leave a Reply

