decisions, options, direction

‘Would you tell me, please, which way I ought to go from here?’
‘That depends a good deal on where you want to get to,’ said the Cat.
‘I don’t much care where –‘ said Alice.
‘Then it doesn’t matter which way you go,’ said the Cat.
‘–so long as I get somewhere,’ Alice added as an explanation.

~Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

Maybe this will help explain the last very brief blog. Lately I’ve been feeling directionless. Which way do you go when you don’t know where to go? What to do next?
Just sitting, waiting certainly doesn’t get you very far. Unless perhaps you’re the lucky type and things just fall into your lap.

There are certain constants in my life: baking, nutrition, health. Seems easy enough. Tho I love baking and want to share allergen-friendly treats with the world, I feel torn between my desire for something different.

Working one-on-one with families and children has always been a part of my practice. Maybe one day I’ll be teach my own cooking classes or even offer consultations for the newly allergy-diagnosed. How does one go about starting that? I’ve considered applying to Bauman in Berkeley for the nutrition consultant program. Seeing as how I have a B.S.Ed. in Nutrition at a Master’s in Maternal & Child Nutrition, you might not think I need to go much further. What qualifications does a person really need to be a nutrition professional? In a standard internship to become a registered dietitian, it’s hardly based around whole-food health. There will always be room to learn about tube-feedings for sure but the RDA might almost be as bad as the FDA or USDA. Do they really care about the health of America?

Now I’m getting off on a tangent. But really? Should I be complaining? I have multiple interests and things to ‘fall back on’. Guess I’m not really feeling directionless as much as at a fork in the road!

“No matter where you go, there you are”
Leave a Reply

